The blogger who came in from the cold


Well, the one who has come back in after having a cold, that is.

And not just any cold, mind you.  It’s winter down here in Oz and from day one I came down with what I think was the flu. But I worked through it for two weeks, forcing myself in to work due to tight deadlines.

It hung around for about 4 weeks.  And then just as I was getting better my daughter and I came down with gastro.  And I kid you not, it hit us both at exactly the same time – 2am on a Tuesday morning. She came into our room at about 1am saying she had a sore tummy.  We sent her back to bed.  I had been struggling with a bit of a gurgling tummy at the same time.

Then at 2am she yelled out and when I raced in to see her, she had thrown up all over herself, her bed and her bedside table. I managed to get her to the bathroom sink to throw up some more, then changed her out off her dirty clothes before it hit me too. I had to send her to get her Daddy while I continued to throw up – for a few hours.

All the while, I have been struggling to get a grip on my extra studies. It’s exhausting, but I’m doing OK. But it’s taking a massive toll on my energy levels and my marriage.

I have not been a good wife.

Once the kids are fed and in bed, I’ve been jumping jump on the computer or reading my textbooks.  My husband goes to bed first and I follow.  And then all I can do is have a hot shower and collapse into bed.

See?  I’m a bad wife, right?

Last night I thought I’d make a huge effort.  I had a hot shower as usual, but this time I shaved my legs, put on some body lotion and went into bed.  I was so cold that  I told myself that once I thaw out, I’m going to make the move and seduce my husband. And wouldn’t he be happily surprised!

The next thing I knew it was 1.30am and something was tapping me on my shoulder.

I opened my eyes and found myself looking in to my four-year-old son’s face.  I screamed out a mighty yelp and my husband did the same.  Once I recovered I put my son to bed and then realised that I must have fallen straight to sleep the minute my head hit the pillow.  I did actually think “Oooh, I should be daring and make my move now!” But the lure of sleep was too strong.

What a seductress I am!

Leave a Reply

