Me x 5


Remember that 1996 movie ‘Multiplicity’ with Michael Keaton?  The one where he clones himself so he can get more things done in his life?

That’s what I think I want to do.

There is so much I want to be and do that I need to live a few different lives so I don’t find myself on my deathbed wondering ‘what if’.

The different clones of me would be:

THE HIGH ACHIEVING CAREER WOMAN

I love having a career and going to work.  I love the responsibility and the respect I (hopefully) garner and having to use my brain. I love earning my own money, the camaraderie with my team (greatest bunch of women I’ve ever worked with!) and constantly learning about my industry and myself.

I’d love to be a CEO and have great power and to be able to make real decisions.  To be a real trailblazer for women and  stomp around in fabulous corporate suits and even more fabulous shoes; to travel business class; to be asked to present at really important forums; and to reach the very pinnacle of my industry.

THE STAY-AT-HOME MUM

50shousewifeSometimes I struggle with working full time.  I want to stay at home full time because I know with all my heart that it would be so good for my family – which would be good for me. I could make sure the house is running smoothly, take my kids to school and pick them up.

I could be involved in their school and go along to excursions.  They could have friends over after school, attend after school activities and have a nicely rounded, calmer life.  Not the mad rush we have every day with two parents working full time.

THE PART-TIME WORKER

Truth be told, I’d probably go quietly insane if I was a full time stay at home Mum, so the perfect balance of part-time would be nice.  Working three days would be ideal. I would still keep my toe in the career water so I wouldn’t feel my two degrees were a waste of time , but then I’d also have two days at home to redress the balance. Lovely!

THE FREELANCE WRITER

Ah, to be able to work from home and write, write, write. I could work from a cafe, on the kitchen table, in the park – wherever. And going by the image on the right, all freelance writers work on their stomachs in the grass by the beach, right? That beats working in an office full time any day!

THE PERPETUAL STUDENT

I love learning new things.  If I could, I would study the following just for fun – nothing to do with improving career choices:

  • photography
  •  cooking (all cuisines)
  • fine art
  • English literature
  • sewing ( I would love to know how to make my own clothes)
  • Italian/Spanish/French/Greek
  • creative writing
  • remedial massage

I know all of the above contradict each other, and a lot of the scenarios are based on fuzzy, unrealistic stereotypes (and a major Tattslotto win!).

Maybe it’s true that modern women can have it all, just not at the same time.

How bloody frustrating is that?!

3 thoughts on “Me x 5

Leave a Reply

