Two days in


How are your New Year’s resolutions going? Ticking along nicely?

Or are you one of those fabulously well balanced people who believe that they are a waste of time and that you don’t need to wait until 1 January to set goals and meet them – you do it every day and end the year feeling brilliant about yourself?

(Apologies for the bitterness that came through in that last sentence. It’s not you, it’s me. I am just jealous.)

For me, the start of a new year is like a blank page in my journal; full of promise and hope and waiting for me to make my mark. Or to smudge my mark; erase it; write over it; scribble it out and start again.

Which is why I am a big fan of resolutions, as they allow me to set new visions and forget about the stuff I didn’t achieve the previous year.

But this year I am struggling to come up with some.

fail-stampFor the last two days, I’ve had a few whizz through my mind, but have already failed them, so need to keep trying to find ones I can keep.

My failed resolutions so far…

To not be a Mum who lets herself get too tired and yells at her kids

Sorry, kids. Mummy is going to struggle with this one forever.

To follow my FODMAPS diet and not put myself through the torture of a sore, bloated tummy

Damn those Lindt balls, chocolate balls and shortbread I received for Christmas!

To make more ‘me time’

Despite hating this term with a passion, it is something I really struggle with due to full time working Mum guilt. I still haven’t taken myself out to the gym or gone for a walk, because I am loving just hanging out with the kids so much.

To keep up the exercise routine I was enjoying last year

See above and add ‘plus, I can’t be bothered’.

To do more yoga

Again, see above.

So, to be kinder to myself, I have come to this theory. That I don’t need to start my resolutions until I go back to work on 6 January, because that’s when the year REALLY starts.

Happy (two days in) New Year, everyone!

Leave a Reply

