Pack the essentials – and then some!


Thank God that’s over.

ImageIn Melbourne we have just come out of a week long heatwave with temperatures way into the 40s. I refused to do anything that required an extra ounce of energy – so my week basically wound down to: wake up, get kids ready for Vacation Care, go to work, eat dinner, watch TV, sleep.

But among the sloth-like behaviour, we did get a bit of a shake up with a bushfire that was in the neighbourhood next to us.

We followed the fire updates and decided to pack up and leave, just to be safe. We didn’t have a proper fire plan in place (very naughty of us), so while I was at work, my husband got the kids ready and asked them to pack a bag of their favourite things.

My 7 y/o daughter’s bag:

  • two teddies
  • her moneybox
  • gifts that her fairy had given her (three years worth of me sneaking into her room and placing little items under her pillow)
  • a party dress.

My 5 y/o son’s bag:

  • his moneybox
  • 10 pairs of undies (!)
  • some Lego
  • his favourite soft toy puppy.

When I got home from work, I quickly grabbed my good jewellery and my journal, while my husband had grabbed photo albums and family DVDs.

Now, all that sounds very sensible and practical (and sentimental). But I also discovered a very materialistic side of myself during this packing process.

I had to stop myself grabbing a few ‘vital’ items because I would have been moritified if anyone at a relief centre saw my bag and noticed what I had brought with me!

So here is my not-so-vital list of things I would take with me if I knew I wasn’t going to be judged:

  • my collection of (mainly) Elk necklaces (they really are SO pretty and can lift any outfit)  
    Image
    Please don’t judge – but I really, really love my necklaces!
  • my Bobbi Brown make up (finding the perfect shade of lipstick, eyeshadow and blush can be very tricky)
  • my knee high boots (all those girls with cankles out there will understand how boots that you can actually zip up over your calves  are worth their weight in gold)
  • my collection of real living magazines (I’ll need some inspiration if I need to redecorate a new house, won’t I?)
  • my Harry Potter DVD box set (’nuff said).

What would your not-so-vital list include?

P.S The bushfire was downgraded and we remain safe and sound.

Leave a Reply

